Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (24) - DVDs (1)

Benny And Joon review

Posted : 4 years, 2 months ago on 16 September 2013 05:40 (A review of Benny And Joon)

I don’t usually like to watch little romantic comedies because they don’t exactly burst out a lot of intelligent or profound things. Benny & Joon is a great exception.

I liked the chemistry between Johnny Depp and Mary Stuart Masterson quite a lot, it was retarded and at the same time just so sweet and fun. He did a great Buster Keaton impression troughout the whole movie, and surprisingly, it suited him well. I don’t have any feelings movie/actor-wise towards Aidan Quinn, but I think the part suited him and he played it well and with quite a lot of feeling.

Benny & Joon is a sweet, funny, fun, romantic, heartbreakingly cute movie, and it’s just perfect to watch on a lazy sunday.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A Single Man review

Posted : 4 years, 2 months ago on 16 September 2013 05:34 (A review of A Single Man)

What a fantastic and absolutely beautiful movie. I have no fucking clue why I didn’t watch it sooner. A masterpiece. Everything, from the cinematography, music, action, to the characters is so artfully and beautifully done.

I liked the steadiness and the ruggedness it had in the scenes, I loved how when Colin Firth felt many feelings everything brightened up and looked beautiful and intense and the opposite happened when he was sad and depressed. What a beautifully crafted metaphor. The cinematography, combined with the music was absolutely superb.

There were many moments where I cried like a little bitch, but totally worth it. It’s just a classy movie. I had no idea that Tom Ford is so talented and I really think that he is a great director. I liked everything about this movie. Even the ending made sense, even though it probably won’t seem like it at first.

Just watch it. Tt’s absolutely beautiful.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ghost World review

Posted : 4 years, 2 months ago on 16 September 2013 05:23 (A review of Ghost World)

I am pretty sure that I was retarded up until this point for not having watched this. It honestly is one of the best teenager movies there has ever been created in modern cinematography, as far as I’m concerned.

Steve Buscemi and Thora Birch and Scarlett Johanson and all the rest of the characters are so dorky and awkward and adorable at the same time that I coud barely stand it. The cinematography, the old feel to it, the dialogues and the natural way the characters interact with each other just make it a wonderful movie. In no other movie have I seen apathy turned into something nice and so human as in Ghost World.

The mixture between the retro feel of the entire movie and the modern, if I can say so, attitudes that the characters have, is simply awesome and it kept me watching without even hitting the pause button once. And I always hit it because I always have to smoke during a movie. Well this time I just sat there from start to finish loving on the whole movie and unconditionally loving on the characters. I also loved the ending and the symbolism in the final sequences.

I super gladly recommend it and I would super gladly watch it again.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Secretary review

Posted : 4 years, 2 months ago on 16 September 2013 05:00 (A review of Secretary)

James Spader has never been sexier and Maggie Gyllenhaal has never been more adorable and awkward; and yet beautiful and sexy. The chemistry between the two characters is just explosive and throughout the whole movie I felt tingles and shivers when certain sequences came up, and no, I don’t mean the sex ones. And that says something.

I have a great respect for BDSM and I feel that a couple needs a lot of trust, intimacy and love in order to get into it and apply it properly. This movie is about love, first of all, and it kinda pisses me off when people see it strictly as a movie about sex or about BDSM. It’s about two socially awkward and tried and tired people who didn’t find what they were looking for and who have the courage to try it together and to look for it together.

It’s just great. And I love it to pieces.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Brown Bunny review

Posted : 4 years, 2 months ago on 16 September 2013 04:57 (A review of The Brown Bunny)

If I have ever seen a more paradoxal movie, this must definitely be it. Nevertheless, it is one of the best independent movies I’ve seen in a very long time. I still prefer Buffalo 66 when it comes to Gallo, but this left me mouth agape and I never expected that to happen, to be honest. I was used to Vincent Gallo being kinda mellow even though he can be intense at times, like his newer movies.

When I say paradoxal I just mean its mellow nature, throught the whole movie, perhaps even boring I could say at times, which concludes with one of the most shocking endings. The whole movie is just about Bud (V. Gallo) who is a motorcycle racer and who decides to take a cross country trip to california to see Daisy, the love of his life, very well played by Chloe Sevigny. On his way he meets women, they all have flower names, with which he engages in mild flirtations and kissing.

Quite boring until this part, as all he does is fuckin’ drive around, stare at things and make out mildly with chicks. Then he gets to LA where he meets Daisy and jesus fuck - it starts. And here I’ll have to stop, cause you’ll need to watch it yourself. One of the best scenes ever is at the end because it portrays the power of something that exists in everyone’s life.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Anvil! The Story of Anvil review

Posted : 4 years, 2 months ago on 16 September 2013 04:53 (A review of Anvil! The Story of Anvil)

This movie is about dreams and failure and getting back up and dreaming some more, all accompanied by heavy metal. It made me cry, it made me laugh manically and it made me happy. It’s about having the courage to dream.

Really, watch this here thing. It will make you feel good.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Firecracker review

Posted : 4 years, 2 months ago on 16 September 2013 04:46 (A review of Firecracker)

I might be affected by my love for patton, but it was a damn good movie. Very dark and twisted, very weird and just all around very Patton. He did a great job as an actor too, even if at times maybe you could tell he’s “new” at the job. And of course Karen Black was just disgustingly amazing in this movie - i honestly don#t know how else to put it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Love Ranch review

Posted : 4 years, 3 months ago on 15 September 2013 06:10 (A review of Love Ranch)

This movie - it is magnificent. Just everything about it is good, it's honest, edgy, brutal and sweet, all at the same time. Helen Mirren and Joe Pesci are just fascinating in the role they play and they play off of each other beautifully. For the subject that it presents - prostitution, this movie is very sensible and sweet.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Rust and Bone review

Posted : 4 years, 3 months ago on 15 September 2013 05:55 (A review of Rust and Bone)

I was quite curious about this one, since it's Marion, and I love her, but the movie isn't what I expected it to be. It's pretty slow and it gets lost in detail, in my opinion. The love story is pretty good presented, even though at times I can honestly say it annoyed me. Just not very much communication, and don't get me wrong, some movies are great without many words and verbal communication, but in this one it didn't work that well, for me. Other than that I liked the intimacy scenes because they were something else because of her handicap. I found that courageous and why not, beautiful - flaws are what make one perfect, right?


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Battle Royale review

Posted : 4 years, 3 months ago on 15 September 2013 05:50 (A review of Battle Royale)

If you think that The Hunger Games are the real deal you are wrong. THIS one is the real deal when it comes to survival stuff. It's also funny and ridiculous, which makes it a very good movie.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block